Motocross of Nations 2024 | Matterley Basin, UK

Proud to Support  |  8 May 2024

Motocross of Nations 2024 | Matterley Basin, UK main image


The 2024 FIM Motocross of Nations returns to the prestigious Matterley Basin in the United Kingdom for the third time.  Our last visit to Matterley Basin in 2017 saw team Australia finish sixth, but it was a successful weekend for Hunter Lawrence as he took out the top spot in MX2, something we shouldn't forget as we head back this year with the win set in our sights.  In Ernée 2023, Australia achieved their best-ever finish of second place, creating much anticipation leading into this year's MXoN. 


For those unfamiliar with the Motocross of Nations, each participating country sends a team of three riders to compete, that's one rider per class; MXGP, MX Open, and MX2. The classes go head to head, on rotation, across six motos and an olympic style scoring system is utilised, where the worst finish from the six motos is dropped, then the nation with the lowest cumulitive score wins!

Team Australia 2024

A much anticipated announcement, Team Australia is locked in for Matterley Basin. After their previous success on the world stage and dominance in America, it shouldn't surprise you that Hunter and Jett Lawrence make their return to battle for the so-far elusive Chamberlain Trophy. Kyle Webster makes it a Honda trio by earning himself the third spot after an impressive year thus far, 2024 marks his first Nations since 2019.

A win at MXoN is by no means guaranteed, to ensure we're firing on all cylinders the entire team is committed to their preparation for Matterley Basin. During the one month hiatus from Australian ProMX (where Webster is currently leading the championship points), Webster has joined the Lawrence brothers in the US, last weekend he lined up at Southwick and finished 10th OA, that track is no joke so it's a promising start to his 2024 American campaign.

We believe in our team and are feeling quietly confident that at peak performance the boys can clinch that first MXoN win for Australia!


If you can't make it to England but want to rally behind our team, Motorcycling Australia is hosting a fundraiser at Queensland Moto Park, come along on August 3rd to sharpen your skills with some of the best riders known to Australian motocross, past and present.  The lineup includes Jeff Leisk, Craig Dack, Stephen Gall, Glen Bell, Dean Ferris, Kyle Webster, Jed Beaton, and Todd Waters. For more information and to book head to our 2024 MXoN Training Clinic at QMP page.


Comments (1)


This would be a dream of a lifetime to head back to my own country with my 2 young kids so they could see where their dad came from aswell as seeing our favourite team, team Australia stand on top of the podium rain hail or shine we would be screaming at the top of our lungs for team gold to cross the lines first

Lynton Bewley on 10 May 2024

Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up