MXstore’s Own Moto Insider #6

MXstore’s Own Moto Insider #6 main image

AMA 2014 Outdoor Nationals Round 5 – Muddy Creek, Tennessee:

The Red Bull KTM team came out swinging this weekend cleaning up the 450 class in both motos with Roczen and Dungey each having a 1-2 finish with Roczen taking the overall for the day.

Eli Tomac put in his best ride of the season taking the third step on the podium in front of a consistent Canard in fourth.

The rough and rutted track proving to be too much for many riders with quite a few big names laying it over with the likes of Reed, Stewart and Grant all hitting the deck throughout the day.

450 MX Series Standings:

  • 1. Ken Roczen 230pts KTM
  • 2. Ryan Dungey 214pts KTM
  • 3. James Stewart Jr. 187pts Suz
  • 4. Trey Canard 186pts Hon
  • 5. Brett Metcalfe 141pts Kaw


In the lites class Dean Wilson and series leader Jeremy Martin both had some first turn issues putting them down in the pack while Cooper Webb rode hard all moto only to be passed by Blake Baggett in the final turn to just miss out on his first moto win.

The second moto was all Webb though walking home to a comfortable win also claiming his first overall win in the pro lites class.

Webb now moves within eight points of the early dominating force of Jeremy Martin but Baggett has been showing the pace recently too so the series will be anything but a landslide before it crowns a champion later this year.

250 MX Series Standings:

  • 1. Jeremy Martin 203pts Yam
  • 2. Cooper Webb 195pts Yam
  • 3. Blake Baggett 186pts Kaw
  • 4. Justin Bogle 166pts Hon
  • 5. Christophe Pourcel 166pts Yam


Webb took the win and the trophy civil war rifle!


FIM World Motocross Championship:

The FIM series took a week off over the weekend so Antonio Cairoli remains the series leader with anybody lower than third in the series being well out of contention.

  • 1. Antonio Cairoli 477pts KTM
  • 2. Clement Desalle 452pts Suz
  • 3. Jeremy Van Horebeek 440pts Yam
  • 4. Kevin Strijbos 350pts Suz
  • 5. Shaun Simpson 242pts KTM


Monster Energy Motocross Nationals Australia, Round 6 – Swan Hill. Victoria:

By a small miracle the Victorian winter produced a perfect day and Kade Mosig put it all together for the overall win in the 450 class. The Moss brothers finishing behind Kirk Gibbs in third and fourth with Monea and Billy Mackenzie not far off the pace.


MX1 Points Standings:

  • 1. Matt Moss 448pts
  • 2. Kirk Gibbs 429pts
  • 3. Jake Moss 403pts
  • 4. Adam Monea 396pts
  • 5. Billy Mackenzie 390pts


Matt Moss with a commanding lead


In the lites class the young gun Nato Crawford took the win over Arbon and Clout with Yamaha proving to be the brand of choice for the 250 class just like it is in the AMA right now.

Honourable mention to Joel Wightman finishing in 15th after spending some time out injured recently, we look forward to seeing the Oneup Unltd rider improving his results as his fitness returns.

MX2 Points Standings:

  • 1. Luke Clout 384pts
  • 2. Hamish Harwood 370pts
  • 3. Luke Arbon 360pts
  • 4. Brenden Harrison 334pts
  • 5. Kale Makeham 334pts


Red Bull X-fighters World FMX Championships Round 3, Madrid. Spain.

One of the biggest breakthrough events in the history of FMX took place in Madrid over the weekend with a number of riders pulling out world firsts and then continuing on with an already world class run.

The 2013 champion, Frenchman Tom Pages’ was yet to taste victory in 2014 but pulled out all of the stops to land a run full of unique tricks to utter perfection edging out series leader Levi Sherwood and the double back flipping from Josh Sheehan to take the win.

With all of the insanity and new tricks being thrown a near perfect event unfolded with no crashes and the absolute limits of the sport being pushed further than ever before. A true testament to how far the sport has come and the level of dedication athletes have to put in to be the best.

Levi still has a commanding lead over Josh Sheehan and the rest of the field, but a hungry Pages is now back in the game sitting in third for the championship.


Pages with the bike flip


  • 1. Levi Sherwood 200pts Nzl
  • 2. Josh Sheehan 160pts Aus
  • 3. Thomas Pages 145pts Fra
  • 4. Dany Torres 130pts Esp
  • 5. Remi Bizouard 95pts Fra
  • 6. Rob Adelberg 90pts Aus
  • 7. Taka Higashino 70pts Jpn
  • 8. Mat Rebeaud 70pts Sui
  • 9. Maikel Melero 60pts Esp
  • 10. Adam Jones 55pts


Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up