MXstore’s Own Moto Insider #37

Motocross News  |  20 April 2015

MXstore’s Own Moto Insider #37 main image

Monster Supercross Round 15 Santa Clara, CA

450 Main Event:

A big upset this week as for the first time in a million years Andrew Short didn’t get the holeshot! Yamaha’s Justin Barcia took the early lead after a less than great supercross season in 2015. Shift MX's Chad Reed was hot in pursuit in second place until a mistake through one of the rhythm sections saw Reedy go down in a big way, but fortunately held onto it enough not to get hurt!

Fox Rider, RyanDungey did well not to land on Reedy and would go on to slip past Barcia in the smoothest of passes for the lead and would go on to take the main event win. Even though the championship has been won, there is no slowing down Dungey as every win counts to his record and puts more cash in the bank!


Dungey is cruising!

Dungey is cruising!


450 Results:

  • 1. Ryan Dungey
  • 2. Eli Tomac
  • 3. Weston Peick
  • 4. Jason Anderson
  • 5. Cole Seely
  • 6. Blake Baggett
  • 7. Justin Brayton
  • 8. Chad Reed (AUS)
  • 9. Andrew Short
  • 10. Nick Wey


250 Main Event:

The season finale for the 250 West was as hard fought as ever considering Cooper Webb had already wrapped up the championship the week before. A massive pile up in the first turn saw all but 7 riders hit the ground including Webb and most of the top runners!

Josh Hansen took an early lead but was passed by Plessenger, but the rookie tucked the front end into a turn and would be passed again by Hanny. Webb came through the field and made the pass into the lead, Hanny retired from the race soon after with suspected bike problems.


Webb went down in the first turn but came back to win!

Webb went down in the first turn but came back to win!


250 Results:

  • 1. Cooper Webb
  • 2. Justin Hill
  • 3. Alex Martin
  • 4. Malcolm Stewart
  • 5. Shane McElrath
  • 6. Jackson Richardson (AUS)
  • 7. Aaron Plessinger
  • 8. Matt Bisceglia
  • 9. Tommy Hahn
  • 10. Scott Champion


MXGP Arco, Italy



Home country hero Toni Cairoli took the holeshot but had the German Max Nagl in hot pursuit with Villo and Clement Desalle. Although there was plenty of pressure Cairoli would win moto 1 and Villo would end up just off the pace in 4th.

Max Nagl took the holeshot in moto 2 and took off to a healthy lead with Cairoli, Villo and Desalle to fight over second place. Villo got a little too aggressive and looped the bike out on a straight in a pretty heavy crash, but would remount and finish the race without injury.

From there a number of the big names hit the ground which mixed up the order of things which is keeping the championship interesting with Desalle, Nagl and Cairoli all within 1 point of each other in the top 3 spots. Villo is down in 6th with a bit of catching up to do to be back in the hunt.


Cool place for a Motocross race!

Cool place for a Motocross race!


MXGP Results:

  • 1. Maximilian Nagl 47
  • 2. Antonio Cairoli 47
  • 3. Clement Desalle 38
  • 4. Romain Febvre 34
  • 5. Gautier Paulin 32
  • 6. Evgeny Bobryshev 28
  • 7. Ken de Dycker 26
  • 8. Davide Guarneri 22
  • 9. David Philippaerts 21
  • 10. Shaun Simpson 20
  • 12. Todd Waters (AUS) 16
  • 19. Dean Ferris (AUS) 7



Herlings was in the top 6 off the start but had moved into the lead before the end of the first lap, from there he stretched out a comfortable lead on the dry and dusty course. Jordi Tixier holeshotted both moto’s. Herlings fought back to second but crashed on the last lap and although would remount and finish the race, just missed out on the moto win.

Herlings still leads the championship as the series heads to his home town for the next round. Honda took their first round win in the MX2 class for the first time since 2009 with Marvin Musquin!


Gajser on the gas in Italy!

Gajser on the gas in Italy!


MX2 Results:

  • 1. Tim Gajser 47
  • 2. Jeffrey Herlings 47
  • 3. Jordi Tixier 40
  • 4. Dylan Ferrandis 34
  • 5. Max Anstie 32
  • 6. Jeremy Seewer 29
  • 7. Valentin Guillod 28
  • 8. Benoit Paturel 25
  • 9. Brent Van doninck 21
  • 10. Julien Lieber 21


Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up