MXstore’s Own Moto Insider #25

Motocross News  |  28 January 2015

MXstore’s Own Moto Insider #25 main image

Round 4 - Coliseum - Oakland, CA

450 Main Event:

For the second week running Andrew Short pulled the holeshot and took off to an early lead aboard his KTM while the rest of the pack were banging bars fighting for positions.

Aussie Chad Reed was fired up after last week’s controversial black flagging incident and put his Shift MX Discount Tire Kawasaki into an early second place. The red plate of the FOX rider Ken Roczen was looming around Reed and Kroc made the block pass on Reed before one of the monster triple jumps on the track.

Although the pass was made Kenny’s run in for the triple was effected causing him to pull up massively short and back sided the third down ramp. Some seriously good suspension must be in that RMZ as Kenny would remount and finish the race in 15th with only a black eye.

Reedy continued to ride solid and even took the lead for a while showing he isn’t completely off the pace yet until a challenge by Canard appeared. The crowed held their breath after the incident from last week but Canard made a clean pass and took a convincing win, the first of the season for Trey! Chad hung tough but made a mistake and went off the track allowing Dungey to creep into 2nd but the first time Reedy has been on the podium in about a year so he has got to be stoked!

Dungey moves into the number 1 spot in the championship which is set to make things interesting as there is a healthy amount of rivalry between he and his old team mate in Kroc.


Kenny having a suss to check if there was another bike heading his way

Kenny having a suss to check if there was another bike heading his way


450 Results:

  • 1. Trey Canard Hon
  • 2. Ryan Dungey KTM
  • 3. Chad Reed Kaw
  • 4. Eli Tomac Hon
  • 5. Cole Seely Hon
  • 6. Justin Barcia Yam
  • 7. Davi Millsaps Kaw
  • 8. Andrew Short KTM
  • 9. Blake Baggett Suz
  • 10. Jason Anderson Hus
  • 11. Jake Weimer Kaw
  • 12. Brett Metcalfe Suz
  • 13. Kyle Chisholm Kaw
  • 14. Phil Nicoletti Yam
  • 15. Ken Roczen Suz
  • 16. Vince Friese Hon
  • 17. Fredrik Noren Hon
  • 18. Kyle Partridge Hon
  • 19. Killian Rusk Yam
  • 20. Martin Davalos Hus
  • 21. Josh Grant Kaw
  • 22. Broc Tickle Suz


250 Main Event:

As always the 250 class didn’t disappoint when it came to close racing. The red plate holder Cooper Webb got off to a slow start but all of the usual suspects were up the front banging bars and fighting for the number one position.

Webb showed some amazing speed and was working his way through the pack well on his way to the front when the Arenacross rider Tyler Bowers made a very questionable move and completely T-boned Webb off his bike through a turn. It was a solid hit and Webb’s head was whipped around from the impact and while Bowers kept it on 2 wheels, Webb was delegated to 15th with a lot of work to do to get back into the points.

While this was happening Malcolm Stewart worked his way up the front on his Honda and held a consistent lead for much of the later part of the race. Webb was on a mission though and lap after lap reeled in the front runners, putting a clean pass on Tyler and ended up moving into second place at the finish line. With the speed he was showing though another few laps and he would have been all over Stewart!

It was a bittersweet win for Malcolm who on the podium expressed his sadness that his brother James was not there as he is serving out a suspension from racing due to the use of a banned medication last year. Webb continues to hold onto the red plate and we wonder if there will be more paint swapped between him and bowers before the end of the season.


Malcolm took the win and Webb hung tough for second!

Malcolm took the win and Webb hung tough for second!


250 Results:

  • 1. Malcolm Stewart Hon
  • 2. Cooper Webb Yam
  • 3. Alex Martin Yam
  • 4. Tyler Bowers Kaw
  • 5. Zach Bell Hus
  • 6. Zach Osborne Hus
  • 7. Aaron Plessinger Yam
  • 8. Josh Hansen Kaw
  • 9. Justin Hill KTM
  • 10. Jessy Nelson KTM
  • 11. Shane Mcelrath KTM
  • 12. Zack Freeberg Yam
  • 13. Scott Champion Yam
  • 14. Jackson Richardson Hon
  • 15. Cole Martinez Yam
  • 16. Tommy Hahn Hon
  • 17. Austin Politelli Yam
  • 18. Trevor Reis Yam
  • 19. Brandon Scharer Suz
  • 20. Nico Izzi Yam
  • 21. Chris Alldredge Kaw
  • 22. Aaron Siminoe Kaw

Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up