MXstore’s Own Moto Insider #24

Motocross News  |  20 January 2015

MXstore’s Own Moto Insider #24 main image

Round 3 - Angel Stadium- Anaheim, CA

450 Main Event:

For the first time in a long time Andrew Short aboard his KTM was off to an early lead while Aussie Chad Reed also made a solid start and was sitting in the top five and settling in to a steady pace.

There was no denying Roczen’s speed though as his smooth riding style was shown and a few effortless passes put him right behind Short. Within a lap Short made a mistake through a rhythm section and went over the bars into a turn. Jason Anderson who was again showing some pace had nowhere to go and went down after running over shorts bike, eventually finishing seventh.

The buzz this week has been all about an incident between Trey Canard and Shift MX rider Chad Reed. Reedy had been passed by a few riders when Canard attempted a very unlikely pass on Reedy which ended up with them both crashing. They quickly got moving again and in the next corner Chad shut the door big time on Canard who crashed again. Canard would pick himself up a second time and finish eleventh while Reed would get a black flag for the retaliation move. This came with an uproar of controversy as there is always a lot of unpunished dirty and sometimes dangerous riding being thrown around week in week out making Reeds actions look like good behaviour but what’s done is done and everyone will be looking forward to next week!


No Canard.. You really didnt have enough room to make a pass there!

No Canard.. You really didnt have enough room to make a pass there!


  • 1. Ken Roczen Suz
  • 2. Ryan Dungey KTM
  • 3. Eli Tomac Hon
  • 4. Justin Barcia Yam
  • 5. Broc Tickle Suz
  • 6. Cole Seely Hon
  • 7. Jason Anderson Hus
  • 8. Dean Wilson KTM
  • 9. Davi Millsaps Kaw
  • 10. Blake Baggett Suz
  • 11. Trey Canard Hon
  • 12. Brett Metcalfe Suz
  • 13. Kyle Chisholm Kaw
  • 14. Nick Wey Kaw
  • 15. Ben Lamay Yam
  • 16. Jimmy Albertson Yam
  • 17. Jake Weimer Kaw
  • 18. Cade Clason Hon
  • 19. Mike Alessi Suz
  • 20. Josh Grant Kaw
  • 21. Andrew Short KTM
  • 22. Chad Reed Kaw


250 Main Event:

Some super close racing again from the lites class which always proves to be just as entertaining as the big bikes.

After a solid start and an early lead, round one winner Jessy Nelson made a small mistake which sent him back to 6th overall. Thor teammates Tyler Bowers and Chris Alldredge were showing signs of a dominating race until Alldredge took a nasty spill after casing a jump ending his night in a bit of pain.

Tyler Bowers then had a comfortable lead for a number of laps but the hard charging Cooper Webb has Bowers in his sight. The white flag came out signalling for the final lap of the race and with just a few turns to go Webb made his move. A slight bit of contact sent Bowers off the track in a small crash while Webb celebrated his second win in a row! Bowers regathered himself to salvage second place while Justin Hill took his first podium of the year.

Big shout out to Aussie Jackson Richardson taking out 11th place in his best finish this year, hopefully we see “Jatz Crackers” well inside the top ten during the rest of the season.


Judging by the height difference Webb should be carefull who he punts off the track!

Judging by the height difference Webb should be carefull who he punts off the track!


  • 1. Cooper Webb Yam
  • 2. Tyler Bowers Kaw
  • 3. Justin Hill KTM
  • 4. Zach Osborne Hus
  • 5. Malcolm Stewart Hon
  • 6. Jessy Nelson KTM
  • 7. Josh Hansen Kaw
  • 8. Alex Martin Yam
  • 9. Tommy Hahn Hon
  • 10. Shane Mcelrath KTM
  • 11. Jackson Richardson Hon
  • 12. Zack Freeberg Yam
  • 13. Aaron Plessinger Yam
  • 14. Austin Politelli Yam
  • 15. Landen Powell KTM
  • 16. Michael Leib Hon
  • 17. Cole Martinez Yam
  • 18. Scott Champion Yam
  • 19. Zach Bell Hus
  • 20. Johnny Jelderda Hon
  • 21. Ryan Breece Yam
  • 22. Chris Alldredge Kaw

    Leave a comment

    Comments have to be approved before showing up